Maple Walnut Flapjack

So I’ve decided, I’m going to blog this year. Tried starting last year but just couldn’t get into it. This year for me it’s about experimenting in my kitchen, starting today..

20120112-155833.jpg

Maple & Walnut Flapjack
So welcome to day one in an exciting year. I’m officially letting everyone that wants to join me, into my virtual (okay real) kitchen. I don’t know why, but I’m obsessed with maple this year, it’s on my porridge, and is plunging into my baking. It’s not a new product, nor is it really a unknown or experimental product but for me it is. I’ve never liked maple, not ever, until 2012. Today is a spur of the moment flapjack – although let it be known I think many a baker bake on a spontaneous moment. My cupboards are always screaming to bake, you can hear them, I promise!

If you want to try this, do it. It’s going to be however you want it to be, flapjack is adaptable to everyone’s needs and likes. I love a gooey chewy flapjack. One that you can’t walk past without stealing a taste. It’s all about the syrup levels and baking time to achieve this.

You will need;

A wooden spoon
A lovely heavy bottom non stick saucepan.
200g of oats.
125g of butter.
125g of sugar (I use half white, half dark brown – for a good flapjack brown sugar is essential).
3tbsp of golden syrup
2tbsp of maple syrup (for a maple explosion use all maple instead of golden too).
To your hearts desire, crushed walnut.

To get started melt butter, syrup and sugars over a low heat. When melted take the pan off the heat and tip in your oats, nuts and coat well with the syrupy mixture. It really is that easy! Line a tray, the bigger the tray the thinner and crunchier the flapjack. I personally use a ceramic roaster, lined with baking paper about 20cm in size. I spread the mixture to the sides and don’t flatten but rough up for some added texture. Pop this in a pre heated oven at gas mark 4/180 Celsius after an initial 5 minutes I turn down to gas mark 2/150 Celsius for the remaining 20 mind until the edges are just turning golden. Then I remove from the oven and allow to cool for around 30-40 mins. Mind those tempted fingers, the syrup gets lava hot!! When cooled cut to desired size and enjoy with a proper English tea – just a suggestion 😉

20120112-160327.jpg

Will be adding more soon, including experimenting with basil in cake baking, and also rose, when I can get hold of it. I’m excited for this year. Tell a friend to tell a friend and of course, happy baking!! x

Please leave a comment

